Spud Ranch in New Braunfels

14 Aug

I must admit that the name “Spud Ranch” intrigued me.  I have always loved baked potatoes, and so I decided to try Spud Ranch when I had a chance to do so. What I found was a small, clean restaurant with seating for about 35 or 40 customers.  Located on Common Street in New Braunfels near Schlitterbahn and Prince Solms Park, Spud Ranch offers a variety of stuffed baked potatoes as well as burgers, sandwiches and salads and appeared to be a perfect place for a family to eat after a day outdoors.

We went in and ordered at the counter, then got our drinks from the serve-yourself drink area.  While we waited for our food, I noticed several customers come in and pick up take-out orders, so this place seems to have a loyal local following as well as day-tripper drop-ins.

The menu features a wide variety of stuffed potatoes, including a traditional with sour cream, cheese, bacon and chives; a couple of veggie stuffed spuds; and other spuds stuffed with beef, chicken, turkey, chili, and more.

I ordered the beef spud, and I really liked it.

Beef Spud

Shaved ribeye, grilled onions, cheese and sour cream came on the spud, which had to weigh at least a pound and a half on its own; it filled most of the little plastic basket in which it was served.The was a lot of meat here, and it was still tender and juicy and the onions seemed freshly grilled.  My request for extra sour cream was quickly filled.  The potato was very hot and very tender, and the sour cream and cheese melted right in. The result was very tasty! This spud was a huge meal in itself, and cost me right around $6.50.

My non-spud dining companion tried the Texas Burger.

A generous patty was served on Texas toast with all of the usual trimmings and was pronounced juicy and excellent. Burgers and other sandwiches can be ordered a la carte or in a combo with fries and a drink.

All of the tables around us were filled with happy diners.  Spuds, burgers and fries were being happily consumed by folks who looked like they’d had a day at the river. It was especially good to have the drinks area self-serve on such a hot day. I enjoyed my visit to Spud Ranch and look forward to the next one!

Spud Ranch on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 758 other followers

